Photos of Oxford
Photos of Oxford

The British Society for the  Philosophy of Religion

The British Society for the Philosophy of Religion (registered charity 1027548) was founded in 1993 and is the UK’s main forum for the interchange of ideas in the philosophy of religion. Since 1995 the Society has held a biennial conference in Britain, devoted to a particular area of the subject.


Our last conference 'Knowledge, Belief and Faith' took place in September 2022. Details of the next confence, to be held in late summer 2023, will be posted on this website.


The BSPR is also affiliated to the European Society for Philosophy of Religion which holds a biennial conference in years alternating with the BSPR’s conference.

The programme of events for the Society is decided at the General Meeting held at the Biennial Conference. The planning of the programme is in the hands of the Committee, consisting currently of Professor Fiona Ellis (President), Dr David Worsley (Honorary Secretary), Dr  Simon Hewitt(Honorary Treasurer), and other Committee Members.



A tribute by Tom Stoneham to Rev’d Dr David Efird (1974-2020)
DE Tribute - Tom Stoneham.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [64.4 KB]
DPhil Theology and Religion Studentship "God-Concepts and Spiritual Wellbeing"- University of Oxford
DPhil Theology and Religion Studentship [...]
Adobe Acrobat document [971.2 KB]